Awards and achievements in CAHNR

Laura Brown recognized as Member of the Year by the Connecticut Economic Development Association

Laura Brown and Garrett Sheehan
Laura Brown with CEDAS President and CEO of the Greater New Haven Chamber of Commerce Garrett Sheehan.

Laura Brown, community and economic development educator in UConn Extension, recently received the Connecticut Economic Development Association (CEDAS) Member of the Year Award. A CEDAS board member, the award recognized her role on the CEDAS Program Committee and the CEDAS Academy Webinar Series and coordination of the newly launched Best Practices in Land Use and Economic Development Program.

CEDAS is a non-profit association of economic development professionals.

According to the CEDAS website, the Member of the Year Award recognizes the best of Connecticut in economic development annually by recognizing a CEDAS member who has exhibited true leadership in economic development in Connecticut and has implemented an initiative that demonstrates real results and outcomes in the past year. Past awardees have been individuals, teams and/or organizations.

Brown was presented the award at the organization’s annual meeting on October 23. This year’s event was held at Boca Oyster Bar at the Steelpoint Development in Bridgeport and was attended by over 100 community leaders, elected officials, planners and economic developers. Awards were also given to twenty-four newly accredited municipalities who received recognition through the Best Practices in Land Use and Economic Development Program, a project in which UConn Extension is a collaborating partner.

Dennis D’Amico on team receiving National Excellence in Multi-State Research Award

Dennis D'Amico
Dennis D’Amico

The Association of Public and Land-Grant Universities (APLU) and the U.S. Department of Agriculture’s National Institute of Food and Agriculture announced their excellence in agricultural research awards. Associate Professor Dennis D’Amico of the Department of Animal Science is part of a multidisciplinary team of researchers and extension educators from thirty-nine institutions from across the United States whose work was recognized with the National Excellence in Multistate Research Award.

The group tackled complex problems across the food production and processing systems like examining foodborne pathogens and food contamination processes and developing devices to help improve food pathogen prediction and detection. The group has helped improve food safety policy, developed novel irrigation water quality assessment tools and implemented interventions to protect produce from pathogens. They have also developed learning materials for the food industry and consumers.

The award will be presented at the 132nd APLU Annual Meeting, November 10-12, 2019 in San Diego, California.

By Jason M. Sheldon