University of Connecticut University of UC Title Fallback Connecticut

Archive for the ‘Faculty’ Category

Awards and accolades for CAHNR

Awards and accoladesRecently, one of CAHNR’s students was selected for an awards that recognizes her accomplishments. The Individual Husky Pride Award is given to student leaders for their contributions to and leadership of the University community. Department of Allied Health Sciences student Marisol Gallo was a finalist for her involvement with the Office of Community Outreach as a leader in the Generations Connect program.

On April 26, 2017, the UConn Board of Trustees promoted the following faculty members.

Promoted to professor

Dr. Michael Copenhaver, Department of Allied Health Sciences

Dr. Julia Kuzovkina, Department of Plant Science and Landscape Architecture

Dr. Ji-Young Lee, Department of Nutritional Sciences

Promoted to associate professor and tenure

Dr. Tania Huedo-Medina, Department of Allied Health Sciences

Dr. Stephanie Mazerolle, Department of Kinesiology

Dr. Amy Mobley, Department of Nutritional Sciences

Dr. Charles Towe, Department of Agricultural and Resource Economics

Dr. Huanzhong Wang, Department of Plant Science and Landscape Architecture

By Patsy Evans


Research study shows eggs decrease bad cholesterol, increase good

Left to right: Maria-Luz Fernandez, Diana DiMarco and Bruno Lemos

Left to right: Maria-Luz Fernandez, Diana DiMarco and Bruno Lemos

Once maligned for raising plasma cholesterol levels, eggs are gaining favor as an inexpensive dietary source of protein, antioxidants, vitamins and minerals and are now considered a safe addition to a healthy diet.

Diana DiMarco, PhD candidate in the Department of Nutritional Sciences, completed a clinical study on egg consumption involving thirty-seven healthy adults between the ages of eighteen and thirty, both male and female with varying diet and exercise habits. The study was funded through the Esperance Family Foundation and the Egg Nutrition Center.

“Our goal of the study was to look at a number of biomarkers for cardiovascular disease,” DiMarco says. “We wanted to get an overall picture of what was happening while eating these different numbers of eggs.”


New project aims to harness student power to assist Connecticut towns with climate adaptation planning

Climate Corps - Living Shoreline Workshop

A Living Shoreline workshop organized by Juliana Barrett held on the Avery Point campus as part of the Climate Adaptation Academy (CAA). The Climate Corps builds on the success of the CAA, an organization that provides municipalities with information and tools to help them adapt to a changing climate.

Uniting faculty members from the College of Agriculture, Health and Natural Resources, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences, School of Engineering, Center for Land Use and Research (CLEAR), and Connecticut Sea Grant, the Climate Corps will serve Connecticut communities by assisting with analyzing climate impact and presenting adaptation strategies while providing a unique learning opportunity for undergraduates.

Students in the Climate Corps will engage in classroom teaching and service learning to develop valuable workplace skills. The program is divided into two components, featuring instruction in the fall semester and a practicum in the spring. Students will learn about climate change and public policy in a new team-taught course entitled: Climate Resilience and Adaptation: Municipal Policy and Planning; then, in the following semester, they will form teams and, with the help of faculty mentors, work with local administrators in communities across the state to support climate adaptation planning. Students will directly assist town officials by preparing assessments of vulnerable areas, structures and systems. They will present ideas on how to prepare for the challenges and suggest methods to acclimate to a changing climate. The goal is to provide municipalities with data, models, forecasts, policies and information on costs so officials can make informed decisions to manage the risks their communities face. The program will draw its students from the Environmental Sciences, Environmental Studies and Environmental Engineering majors. Four Connecticut communities will participate in the first year. (more…)

Awards and accolades for CAHNR

Teaching awards recipients

Lecturer Maryann Morris, Professor John Clausen and student Mona Patel (left to right) represented CAHNR in receiving awards at the University’s Annual Teaching Excellence Award reception on April 4.

On April 4, two CAHNR faculty members and one undergraduate student were recognized for their accomplishments at the University’s Annual Teaching Excellence Award reception. They were among 15 individuals honored.

The University Teaching Fellow Award is given for a commitment to teaching, demonstrated knowledge of educational pedagogy and an interest in fostering innovative teaching practices at the University. Department of Natural Resources and the Environment Professor John Clausen received this award for 2017-2018. It is the University’s highest recognition for teaching excellence.

The Outstanding First Year Experience Teaching Award recognizes the hard work of First Year Experience (FYE) instructors for their dedication to first year students. Department of Allied Health Sciences Lecturer Maryann Morris was acknowledged for her efforts during 2016-2017 at the ceremony.

The John T Szarlan Memorial Student Mentor Award acknowledges FYE mentor achievements. FYE classes support and challenge first year students as they transition to UConn. Mona Patel, a pathobiology undergraduate student, was one of three honored in this way for 2016-2017.

By Patsy Evans

Awards and accolades for CAHNR

Awards and accoladesRecently, some of CAHNR’s faculty members were selected for awards that recognize their accomplishments.

2017 Dr. Lynne Goodstein and Dr. Peter Langer Award for Honors Advising, given for extraordinary accomplishment and commitment to honors advising. Inaugural recipient Christopher Blesso, an assistant professor in nutritional sciences, will receive this award at the Honors Medals Ceremony on Saturday, April 29 at the Jorgensen Center for the Performing Arts.

Provost’s Awards for Open Educational Resources, awarded to recognize UConn faculty and instructors who have committed to the creation, adaptation, adoption, and review of Open Educational Resources in their courses for a minimum of two years. Approximately 225 students annually will use an online textbook published through OpenStax due to the efforts of one of the award recipients, Emma Bojinova, who is a lecturer in agricultural and resource economics.

By Patsy Evans